Oh the Irony

I have been thinking about creating a blog about my love of the fiber arts for many years, and now I’m finally ready. I have a great love of knitting, spinning, weaving, sewing, and crochet. I have done them all and sometimes I can’t decide which one to do next!

And where does the irony come in? It goes back to the end of October of 2011. I am fully engulfed into my latest obsession of weaving. I’m starting to create pieces for our local holiday craft fair. I’m also doing some test knitting for Romi Designs as well as sewing project bags for Nine Rubies Knitting, my local yarn store. I am very busy and enjoying every aspect of being engulfed in all this fibery love, when bam, I injure my left hand.

Now most people would say, oh it’s only your left hand, well, I’m left handed. This finger jam, to my baby finger, shouldn’t, couldn’t be that bad, could it? After all, it doesn’t hurt all that much. I don’t even think I need to go to a doctor.

It turns out that yeah, it is that bad. I keep re-injuring it in minor ways, some not so minor and I finally go to the doctor. He tapes it up, tells me to not use it, and come back in 3 weeks. No improvement. I go to a physical therapist and there I learn the real ins and outs of hand injuries. It can take six to eight months for an injury like this to heal. And by that time, I’m only 4 months into it.

She says it’s ok, so I continue to knit the slowest I’ve ever knit in my life, because I have scheduled classes. Some days it’s only a row I think I can manage because of pain and swelling. I must admit, my love of knitting had diminished some, just because it’s become so difficult to do. I was able to make this shawl, the Traveling Woman shawl, pattern by Liz Abinante. It turned out beautiful. It took me two months to knit it. Normally, it would only take me three weeks maximum, and that’s with a lot of dilly-dallying.

So rather than let it get me down, that I can’t knit, or weave, or spin, or sew as much at this time, while I heal, I’m doing other crafts and having fun with that.

I have discovered the joy of collage. I found these papier mache dress forms and have used them as a base for all the emotions and different directions my inner life is going. They don’t require the same repetitive action that knitting requires and it’s been kind of fun gluing things on them. I’ve gone down the rabbit hole with them, and are calling them my Domestic Goddesses. At some point, I may even be willing to let some of them go find new homes.

Wasn’t I a cute child? I will get back to knitting. weaving, sewing, and spinning, albeit, slowly and in the mean while, I enjoy the process of collage. After all, I use fiber in these collages too, so I guess I am still fiber dazed.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oh the Irony

  1. This is a wonderful start! Hopefully something like this will give you both another outlet for your creativity and also a way to share your fiber love with others all without doing further damage to your recovering finger.

    The hardest part about blogging is keeping up with the posting. You’ll need to figure out a rhythm that works for you and then try to stick to it.

    Congrats on a great beginning and keep up the great work!

  2. fiberdazed says:

    Thanks Sue, that is excellent advice. I have a few topics up my sleeve and plan on making this another creative outlet.

  3. Nice blog, Paula! The pictures are beautiful. And sorry to hear about your hand!

  4. DG says:

    Yes, you were a cute child! And welcome to blogging! And I hope your hand continues to heal. I can’t imagine being hindered in my favorite craft.

  5. Barb says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging! As a fellow knitter/crocheter who also occasionally has hand (or in my case, wrist) pain issues, I wish the the speediest of recoveries so you can return to the crafts that you love with no more pain!

  6. fiberdazed says:

    Thank you Barb, it is healing, although so slowly. It’s an adjustment to find other outlets for that creative drive.

Leave a Reply

