Moving Forward

When I learned how to knit in 1985, like many of us knitters, I became obsessed. I wanted to know everything about it. How to do different stitches, how to put together garments and I hungered to know more. Knitting was solace for me, from my crazy world. I learned how to knit after becoming sober, and in more than one way, it kept me sane. It was the one thing in my life that I did have control over. And I became a pretty good knitter. I started to teach knitting as well as creating some of my own designs.

When I injured my hand this last October, everything I had been doing came to a screeching halt. No knitting, no weaving, no spinning, no sewing, nothing. The identity crisis was monumental. Who I was, was so tied to what I did, and how I interacted with people, it was more than a little depressing. So I read books, to give me an escape from the reality of what my life was now. I reread many of the Anne McCaffrey books I had enjoyed earlier.

But as much as I tried to ignore it, that creative drive was still there, nagging at me. It got to a point where I had to find something else to do. It was tired of reading, I needed to do, not just sit.

I spent some time wandering thrift stores, seeing what might inspire my collage making. I wandered around craft stores, and picked up magazines looking for inspiration. That was when I found papier mache dress forms and like they say, worlds collided. I bought a couple, because I wasn’t sure how much I was going to enjoy this, and after the first one, I was hooked.

Ideas have started flowing fast and furiously. Who knew I would enjoy glitter glue and rhinestones so much. Learning a new medium is exciting. With dressing the dress forms, my inner fashion designer, that had been muted since childhood, started to express herself. She was happy and the Domestic Goddesses came to me.

Taylor, the first to show herself, wrapped herself in pattern pieces and zippers. Glitter, lace, ribbons and snaps completing her outfit. Her sisters, Pearl, Peaches and Cookie are waiting in the wings. We’ll see who else shows up because this creative journey is just starting.

I would love to hear from others. How have you dealt with the challenge when you’ve had to change course in your creative expression.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving Forward

  1. Your dress forms are beautiful. Your article comes at a timely moment for me, as I am dealing with multiple injuries now and am not sure I can knit – again. Holding skeins of yarn isn’t satisfying me, so the wheels are spinning. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

