Crafting My Next Third

This week was the last conference chat of the class I’ve been taking from Sister Diane of Craftypod ( http://www.craftypod.com/ ) on teaching classes online. This particular class was all about video. Everything from how to set them up, light boxes, camera type and things I hadn’t ever thought about. It’s been a great series, and I have lots of food for thought. During our conversation, the topic of whether we have a photograph of ourselves on our blogs or website. I do, but I also mentioned one thing I had some trepidation when it comes to video, is showing how old I am.

After thinking about it for a few days, I’ve realized why that bothered me. It’s the judgement. Mind you, in real life I have no problem with my age, in fact, I relish being 61. I’m kind of amazed that I’ve actually made it to this age, considering my history of drug and alcohol abuse in my 20’s. People that know me, don’t judge my age. They may judge what I’m wearing, but that doesn’t bother me either. But the judgement from people I don’t even know, got me a little, well, lit up. Yeah, I know it shouldn’t bother me, but the people pleaser in me, at least temporarily, got the better of me.

Most of the people on the call were in their 40’s, with me being the oldest at 61. Now I know that isn’t really that old, nor are those people in their 40’s. But it gave me something to think about, with our crafting community and I’ve come to realize, I’m probably in my prime when it comes to doing my craft.

I have been knitting for 27 years. I have mastered many aspects to knitting. Still have some techniques to learn, but I feel comfortable enough with my abilities, that I can teach others how to knit. There are many notable knitters, starting with Elizabeth Zimmerman, who was writing books and teaching knitting into her 80’s or older. Her daughter Meg Swanson, I know is older than me. There are many well known knitters that are still vibrant teachers and are still writing new books and patterns.

So where am I going with this? I guess this post has been a way for me to work through that judgmental voice in my head, that tells me I’m too old to be starting a blog, creating a new business, going for the gusto, after all, aren’t I supposed to be retiring right about now? I’ve been self employed for so many years, retirement is not in my plans any time soon. After all, what do people do when they retire? They do what I’m doing now. Some would call it “hobbies” I’m calling it “my next third.”

This next third of my life will be filled with learning new aspects of knitting. It will also be full of honing my skills as a weaver and spinner as I would like to get better at both of them. I’m loving delving into collage further while my hand heals. It’s fun playing with paint again, figuring out how to put these pieces together to make them look interesting. The creative energy is running rampant. Which only goes to prove, it doesn’t matter how old you are, as long as you keep creating, it will keep you young.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in collage, knitting, mixed media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crafting My Next Third

  1. Laura says:

    I like being 61 – I like the perspective and knowledge I have gained. And no, I don’t feel old – most of the time. :}

    Laura

  2. fiberdazed says:

    Most of the time I don’t even think about my age, and I was really surprised how much it bothered me at the time. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I am new-ish to blogging. I tried setting one up a long time ago, gave up, but am trying again.
    I just came across this site, and would love to add you to my ‘follow list.’ You have that ability to make us feel like you are talking directly to us! We are close in ages, and I am looking forward to reading more of your posts here. 🙂
    My interests are similar; fibre arts, sketching, history, and study of rare breeds of animals/plants. Trying to write, something I had always planned to do, but never got around to it, now using this rusty old brain. Good luck on your classes!

  4. fiberdazed says:

    Thanks for stopping by, and welcome back to blogging. I’m still getting the hang of it myself, and I did check out the Beastly Manor (love the name). Love the photos of the dogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

