Back Pedaling

I’m amused, very amused. As soon as I hit publish on my last post about neckties, I thought I’d see what kinds of art and crafts other people have done with neckties. I wasn’t prepared for the magnitude of the number of items that people have made with neckties. Everything from the necktie skirt to bags to incredible quilts. I also had to laugh at my audacity, thinking that I have such great wisdom about crafting with neckties, and I’m still laughing at myself a week later. If you’re curious, just Google Necktie Crafts, and you can check out the 63 pages of results.

But what that exercise did, was to teach me a couple of things. First of all, do your homework, do use the tools we have today, including Google. I cannot compete with some of the amazing things that people have made with neckties. I’m in awe of the creativity that is out there.

Number two, it made me think about what I do with neckties, beside collect them. What I have always done, is use them as a collage element. They make great handles on bags, pockets and pops of color. I still love them and will find ways to incorporate them with the dress form collages I’m doing now. When I get some done, I’ll post pictures.

I did use a tie to make this cute little Kanzashi flower. All it needs is a button and pin back and I can wear it on my lapel. I did use a Kanzashi flower maker template. After trying to fold the slippery silk by hand, it was a lifesaver. You can find them at most craft stores.

In the spirit of repurposing, I’ve taken a cowl I made a few years ago and I’m putting a ribbed band on it so I can wear it as a slouchy hat. I’ve found don’t wear cowls as much as I thought, but I love wearing hats. I’m still giggling at myself.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in collage, collections, knitting, mixed media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back Pedaling

  1. These are lovely! 🙂

  2. fiberdazed says:

    Thank you, they’ve been fun to make.

Leave a Reply

