A Floppy Disc, Fishing Hooks, Gummed Reinforcements and Italian Leather Cigarette Case

What do these items have to do with each other? They were all in a 6 x 6 x 6 inch box that I found while unpacking. This box wasn’t packed in the last move, I’m figuring it was packed two moves back.

Also in that box was:

10 feet of nylon twine, a penlight lamp (the little bulb), heat shrink tubing, a computer connector

a flame shaped lightbulb, a piece of antler, an electron tube, small postit notes

a book of matches from Duarte’s Tavern in Pescadero, a hose clamp

an eagle belt buckle that says “I’m Proud To Be An American”

a tube of healing ointment, electrical tape, an assortment of keys, a couple of rocks a pulley

a roll of unexposed film, a plastic gear, a zip tie, a diver’s patch, several nails, a number of paperclips

a box of matches, guitar picks, bolts, a latch

peppermint tea teabag, three plastic triangular corners, a variety of screws, fuses

a Boy Scouts of America tie clip

picture hangers, a piece of soft solder, locking washers, a marble

a couple of copies of roman coins, half a dozen hair ties, buttons, some chalk

tacks, a cup hook, pellet gun darts, coaxial cable connectors, a depth gauge

wood plug, a tiny cotter pin, plastic cover with an Apple logo, a “s” hook, nuts

a mini flashlight, wooden corners, electrical wire caps, ball chain, a wing nut,

a Bill Graham Presents pass to Jackson Browne dated May 4, 1975

a number of different sized bullets and an empty fleet enema bottle.

I’m really surprised, there was only one rubber band.

Obviously, this is the junk drawer of boxes. I have discovered a number of boxes similar to this, but they have usually been a little more congruous, and it has given me quite a bit of levity while going through boxes of stuff that were packed in a hurry 12 years ago.

Yes, this house has been twelve years in the making. My son was in middle school when we first packed up the house, moved to a rental, moved out of that rental and into an Airstream trailer for five years. We moved out of it and into another house rental for the last four years of construction. I have never been so happy to see some of the things I’ve been finding.

Some of the things I can do without. But it’s all part of the process of letting go of the past. Seeing what is needed for the present and honoring where I was 12 years ago. It’s an interesting process, and so required to move forward. I am a very different person than I was 12 years ago, and I have different needs now.

This box of miscellaneous things is a microcosm of how my life was. It’s also a mis-mash of some of my stuff (hair ties) and some of my husbands (bullets).

Soon my studio will be set up, but I still have a good 20 or so boxes to go through before I have room to do actual work.

Oh, and just so you all know, I’m never moving again, ever.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

