Worlds Oldest WIP

I knew I had this work in progress somewhere, and that it would be found when we moved. I have found it. The very first sweater I’ve ever knit, and didn’t finish. Mind you, in my defense, when I started this sweater, I’d been knitting for maybe a year.

It’s the first time I’d tried knitting intarsia. It was challenging for me because I was pretty much on my own, and didn’t have anyone to ask about shaping, decreases or well, anything! I looked at one of the sleeves I’d started to sew up, and I had to laugh because the seam is inside out.

It was the height of fashion. I’m so glad oversize garments were in style, because I bet if I sewed it up, it would fit perfectly, even though I’m no longer the size I was when I made it.

I’ve looked for the pattern, and haven’t been able to find it. My knitting skills have improved and now I could probably just wing it. Only problem is that I can’t find any of the oatmeal colored yarn. Maybe I’ll look in the boxes of the “older” stash. Who knows, there could be a skein hiding and I can do the turtleneck that the pattern originally was. If not, I’ll just do a small ribbed edge in the middle color, which is more of a light brown.

Worse comes to worse, I’ll sew it together, use it as a “house sweater” or felt it and turn it into a bag. After all, I’d like a new sweater, and it’s so close to being finished.

And if you’re wondering, I started it in 1986.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

