A Step Up

I am a self taught craft person. I’ve taught myself how to knit, crochet, sew, do mosaics, macrame, and weave, but I do have my limits. I’m fairly proficient in all these crafts, some better than others, and I’m finding there’s certain areas that I want to hone even more.

ImageTake the sewing I’ve been doing. In the recent past I’ve completed two bags. One, the messenger bag and the other is this lovely pieced tote. I learned how to sew when I was probably about 10, and have sewn off and on over the years. The sewing bug has bitten, and for now, I’m going to follow that path for a bit.

Even though, both the bags came out pretty good, there’s a few flaws, like the top stitching that isn’t quite right on the tote, it’s not all straight and if I were to want to sell them, I really need to fix that. I’m hoping that some of the top stitching will improve as I repeat it, I’m also wanting to take the sewing skills to a new level. It would be nice to make some garments, and I do have this mountain of denim.

DarylWorkLGEnter Daryl Lancaster. If you haven’t come across Daryl, please take  a gander over to her website and blog at http://www.daryllancaster.com/  Daryl does something, that few people I know do. She weaves her own cloth and makes garments from it. Not just bags, or table runners like I weave, but stunning dresses, coats, and jackets that win awards. Yes, I’m a bit of a fan girl, but for a damn good reason. And Daryl’s coming to my neighborhood to teach classes this weekend.

JumpstartVestLGOn Saturday and Sunday she’s teaching a Jumpstart Vest workshop and on Monday a Finishing workshop is sponsored by the Black Sheep Handweaver’s Guild, on the San Francisco peninsula. Details are on the Black Sheep Handweaver’s Guild website and there is still space available.

http://www.blacksheepguild.org/  If you’re in the Bay Area, please leave a comment and I’ll get you in.

Soon I’ll be wearing some blouses and dresses with couture finishes. I’ll post pictures as I go along. This is going to be fun because at this point, I still don’t know where it’s going to take me. But hey, I’m game for a new challenge.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

