The Void Between

CymbidiumI’ve been trying to figure out what to call this feeling of uncertainty and lethargy, that I’ve been going through and have only been able to come up with a void. It is not a new place, I’ve been here many, many times before and I’ve discovered the commonality of why I’m finding myself here yet again.

It’s the void, or lull between the old and the new. I’ve finished all my craft projects. I know shocking isn’t it, and nothing is sparking my interest. And, I don’t have any deadline projects to make. When I injured my hand over a year ago, I was forced to stop making things. I had to stop because it was painful and my hand just wouldn’t work without setting me back on my healing path. Even though I now have a new normal for my hand, it’ll never be like it was before the injury. I do have use of it and can knit, sew, spin and weave.

CymbidiumsBut none of those activities interest me. I guess it’s because my old programming that in order to create, you need to make it be something useful. Something you can wear, or it can help you in some way. I haven’t been able to reframe my feelings about being creative and just make something for the sake to making, and it be something not useful.

After all, people who paint paintings, paint for the sure joy of creating, right? So I’m going to just sit with this uncomfortableness. Let it be and  go do something else. Like clean the garage, that has been nagging at me since we moved. After all, all my craft supplies are there, and maybe, just maybe, something will give me a spark I can grab onto. If nothing else, I’ll have fewer things in the garage and will have more space to be able to create when the inspiration does spark.

So dear reader, what tried and true techniques do you use to get out of your void?

CynbidiumAll photos in this post are pictures of our cymbidiums, and are our property. If you would like to use them, please ask.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in art, cymbidiums, knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Void Between

  1. SaffronSkye says:

    Il dolce far niente, the sweetness of doing nothing. Maybe it’s ok for you to do nothing? I think of it as “negative space”, to use a painterly term. Negative space, in art and in life, can provide meaning as much as what’s happening in the foreground. What about a glass of wine and a few hours of the music you listened to when you were a teenager?

  2. twistnpout says:

    I am often inspired by something I find in nature – but I see you are surrounded by beautiful flowers already. I like SaffronSkye’s comment above, though I know how out of sorts I feel when i am in the void. I think cleaning your garage is a great start. I often clean/ organize or resort when I am in “the void” and then I come across some unusual little piece of something that sparks my creativity. While going through my last bout of the doldrums I made over my crafting space and suddenly became so inspired and full of ideas once I had the space organized – I have been working daily for a few weeks now with no sign of the void lurking anywhere (so far) So I think getting to the garage might be just what you need.
    Good Luck.

    • fiberdazed says:

      Finding that little piece of something is what I’m hoping will give me the spark. I don’t need a lot, but if nothing else, digging out the stuff will help.

Leave a Reply

