Creative Rewind With A Twist

Free Your MindI’ve found that sometimes the best way to go forward with my artistic endeavors, is to go back. I guess that’s one of the reasons why I keep going back to knitting, and periodically to crochet. Both of them have been big creative outlets for me for many, many years. But now I’m finding I’m going even further back in my artistic leanings, back to when I used to use paper, paint and colored pencils. Yep, I’m drawing again.

It all started with a post I saw on Twitter, by a very artistic woman Traci Bautista, of Creativity Unleashed, who does a lot of mixed media art journaling. She was offering an e-course in Digital Canvas, showing people how to use many of the apps made for iPad. Since getting my iPad, it’s been somewhat attached to my fingers, so I’ve been looking for something to do with it beside the usual check email & post to Twitter. It was very reasonably priced and so I figured what do I have to lose.

Let Your Spirit FlyOur first assignments were on Paper 53, and oh what fun I’ve been having. It’s great to doodle on, add color, and generally mess around with. As usual, I’m way too hard on myself and when we were supposed to do a face, yikes! So I kind of just copied Traci’s lead, which is ok for now as part of the class.

The next assignment is with the Noteshelf app. Noteshelf allows you to import photographs, and add text and drawings to them, so that should be fun. I’m also learning how to use Photoshop on my computer. Now that is even more of a challenge. I’m figuring with all this new direction, it can’t hurt. I’m looking at designing my own website in the next few months, so these skills with only help me figure things out.

Glam FaceI’m really enjoying revisiting drawing. Over the years, I pretty much gave it up. Mostly because I haven’t really had any formal training beyond high school, and that old gremlin of not being good enough convinced me to let it go. Well, I’m rediscovering my own style, as they say “voice,” and it’s coming out cussing. We’ll just have to wait and see what comes out next. I do know one thing, I’m having fun, and that’s the most important part.

To check out Traci Bautista, you can find her at Creativity Unleashed at http://kollaj.typepad.com/

Now my question for you is, have you ever gone back to your childhood creative joy? How did it manifest? If not, why not? Please leave me a comment, I’d love to hear about your creative journey.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in art, collage, mixed media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creative Rewind With A Twist

  1. Rainy says:

    Totally going back to my childhood love of paper, pens and watercolors. Thanks for this post, I could relate!

Leave a Reply

