The Creativity Killing Curtains

Every once in awhile you find yourself taking on a project that you just know is going to be: a) boring and b) a little more than you expect. Well, that is exactly what happened when I decided to make these curtains for my son’s bedroom.

CurtainsMind you my intentions were good. He needed curtains. His bedroom has a huge window that looks right on to the road. Mind you, it’s not that busy of a road, but he has had people look right into his room, with him half clothed, so yeah, privacy was wanted. Also, by sewing them myself, I could save an awful lot of money. After all, how hard is it to sew straight seams?

Once I got hip to the fact that this upholstery fabric is incredibly heavy, and slick too, I found this is one of those instances that fusible web is your friend. I used it to tack down the seam before sewing it down. I also learned that fabric this thick doesn’t really like to push aside. So I had to adjust the type of curtain for the smaller windows and make a more labor intense Roman shade. I’ve also discovered I’m pretty good with a drill and power screwdriver, and I absolutely love my staple gun. I also learned that the screws supplied with the hardware for hanging curtains are pretty crappy.

Roman shadeI learned a lot making them, and I think they turned out pretty well. My son is very happy with them. They give him privacy, block out the 6:00 am sun, and they’re a huge step up from the Tree of Life bedspread and Bob Marley blanket he had been using as curtains.

But I tell you one thing, I don’t care if I see my sewing machine for awhile. I’m glad I did them, because the emotional payoff is high, but thankfully, I don’t need to be making any more curtains for a long, long time. When I do decide to see my sewing machine again, it’s going to be for something like a blouse, or dress, or jacket or anything that has something besides just straight seams.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in DIY, sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

