Back on the Fiber Train Again

One thing I’ve realized about myself is, I have lots of cycles in my creative life. Last fall, it was sewing. I sewed tote bags, toys for my grandkids for Christmas, clothing for myself, curtains for my son’s bedroom. The sewing bug had bitten me hard and my machine and I were joined at the hip. Right up until the sewing burnout with the creativity killing curtains. I’m actually ok with being over sewing for now, because I know I’ll be back sewing at some point.

Silk ShawlNow, it’s all about weaving and my looms. Well, at some point, it might be about my spinning wheel, and maybe some knitting too, but for now it’s weaving. I warped up my little rigid heddle loom with some silk to make a narrow shawl, using a pick up stick to give it some texture. This will donated to our local La Honda Fair and Music Festival in June, as a raffle prize. It’s been fun getting back into weaving, having my hands in yarn again, getting that rhythm going. It’s been probably a year since I’ve wove anything and I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed it.

Next I’ll warp up my Baby Wolf and start to figure out what patterns I might want to do on it. I have a couple of books that will help me along, and I figure this summer will be spent exploring all the different things I can do with my 4 shaft loom. It’s going to be fun seeing what kind of stash busting I can do with it. After all, like with everything in life, you only get good at a craft with practice, and I plan on practicing weaving a lot this summer.

City Stoplights ShawlFor those times when my back has become tired, I also have a knitting project going. It’s a very simple shawl, completely from my luxury yarn stash. The pattern is called City Stoplights by Sherri Matteo and is a free pattern on Ravelry. It’s simple and makes for a great social knitting project. I’m using lace weight yarn instead of sock yarn, partially because I wanted a lighter shawl and these colors are what I have in the stash. I’m liking how it’s coming out and who wouldn’t love a cashmere, buffalo, alpaca, wool and silk shawl?

Like I seem to do with all the rest of my creative life, I’m just going to go with this for a while. If nothing else, I’ll have some product made for the local Holiday Fair and I’m bent on using up my yarn stash.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in knitting, sewing, weaving and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back on the Fiber Train Again

  1. Do you mind sharing the titles of your inspirational 4 shaft weaving books? I have The Big Book of Weaving which is a little too advanced for me at this moment and I am looking too add a couple of books to my library. Would appreciate knowing which are your go-to titles..

    • fiberdazed says:

      The main book I’m using is The Handweaver’s Patten Directory by Anne Dixon, it’s specifically for 4 shaft looms. I also have Mastering Weave Structures by Sharon Alderman, which is way above my head. My go to resource for my rigid heddle is The Weaver’s Idea Book by Jane Patrick. The pattern for the scarf came from it. All of them are excellent books.

      • Thanks so much. The Weaver’s Idea Book is winging its way to me as I type but as I brought home a four shaft floor loom yesterday my needs have changed. Seems I’m trying to run before I can walk but the new loom is a simple one.Looking forward to the journey and will check your blog again for ideas.

Leave a Reply

