The Dreaded Learning Curve

So we’ve all been there. You take up a new craft or project, and you know just enough about how to do it to fake it. Sometimes you get lucky and you’re successful, and it turns out great. But then sometimes…. you’re just plain deluding yourself. You’re in denial about how the project is going. You’d like to believe it really is quite wonderful like it is in your head, and then boom, that denial is blown to pieces. In this case, it’s me and my weaving.

Green scarfPrime example, is this lovely scarf, still on the loom. It’s a pretty green, has an interesting weave pattern and this lovely boucle yarn to give it a different texture. What’s not to love? As I took it off the loom, it was like a lead brick in my hands. It’s heavy, wide as the Grand Canyon, has no drape, is thicker than the blanket on your bed, and who in their right mind would ever wear this travesty of fashion.

Well, there’s two things I can do. Repurpose it or rip it out and start over. Now I consider myself to be quite adept at repurposing, but for the life of me, I can’t come up with what else to make this thing into. A wall hanging? Cut it up into a bag? Dog toy? I’ve pretty much decided to rip it out, mostly because the yarn was quite expensive when first bought, and even though it’s been in my stash for forever, it’s still a very nice yarn.

Rewoven scarfNow with scarf example number two I managed to catch it before I got too far with it. This scarf used the second half of the same warp. I started using the same weave, but got only about 6″ into it and found that the weft yarn was getting eaten up quicker than a ravenous teen age boy attacks a burger. Having just had a major blow to my weaver’s ego, I felt the fabric and discovered that it too, was going to be a repeat of scarf #1, only in a slightly different color. I promptly unwove it, which is no small feat, and rewove the majority of it in a plain weave. It has much more drape and is certainly lighter that the first scarf.

This is the first time in ages that I’ve taken up a new craft, where I’m not completely successful right from the beginning! I can’t tell you have many knit projects were ripped out and reknit when I was first learning. Same thing with sewing and crochet. Oh how quickly we forget.

But I guess since it’s another fiber craft, I figured I should be a master right from the start. (Gotta love that magical thinking.) And what I didn’t realize, is that weaving is a whole different animal from knitting. This whole thing about “weave structure” well, has a lot less flexibility than knitting does, at least the structure I picked. And what I need to get through my head, is what I’m making here is fabric. Yeah, just like the stuff our clothes are made from. It has it’s own set of rules, and maybe with a little bit more practice and playing with it, I’ll learn some of them.

For now, I’m going to be nice to myself and laugh at the scarf from an alternate universe. The one that loves thick, stiff scarves and go pick up my knitting. At some point, when I’m feeling particularly patient and energetic, that thing will get picked apart, and rewoven into something that could actually be worn by a real human being in this universe.

Knit HeadbandSee I really can make pretty things.

Please leave me a comment, I’d love to hear about any of your learning curve experiences, so I don’t feel so alone in this journey.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in fiber, knitting, weaving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

