Where To Now Saint Peter

That is the question Elton John posed in this song on his album Tumbleweed Connection. After re-listening to it, I really related to the line “I understand I’m on the road where all that was is gone, so where to now St. Peter, show me which road I’m on, which road I’m on.”

Road less traveledSince I’ve made some big changes lately, by freeing up my time from my volunteering, I’m having some difficulty figuring out what’s next and what road I am supposed to take. I’m also discovering how easily I’m swayed by other people’s paths. It’s so easy to get distracted when you see someone making really great pieces, whether it’s knitting, or weaving, or felting, or lettering, or dolls, or polymer clay, or jewelry, or sewing, or, or, or. I see them and I’m ohh, that looks good, ohh, that looks fun, OH that is so cool! I want to do that, and that, and that, and that other thing over there. In this day and age, where the internet offers instruction on how to do all those things and much, much more, I find myself wandering off in many, many directions.

img019Some are fun little distractions that are easy to backtrack from, but then with others, I find myself going down the rabbit hole, wondering how the hell I got here, and why did I sign up for that course that takes me so far off in a completely different direction.

Prime example, do I really want to learn lettering? Now what? Do I really want to do this, or do I just let it go, and steer myself back to what I know, what’s familiar. I can see the value in knowing how to do this, if for no other reason, I’ll have custom cards and promotional materials for my fiber arts but really…how much do you do yourself and how much do you farm out to someone who already has the skill. Then I can focus on something where I might have a little more skill, so I’m not just starting from scratch. Even though I’m a firm believer that all learning is good learning, and all skills will be useful, but how much is too much?

Just writing this out, is helping me get some clarity. What I also realize, there’s no reason why I can’t play with lettering. Have some fun with it, create some logos, doodle, make some art with it. I don’t have to make it my next life’s work. I can also focus more on my fiber pursuits, where I do have skill. After all I already have a great name in Fiberdazed, and Letterdazed doesn’t quite have the same ring to it.

For now, I think I’ll go poke little barbed needles into some fiber and see what that’s like.

Oh, and a new rule, no signing up for any courses after 10 pm.

About fiberdazed

Knitter, spinner, weaver, sewer keeps me busy and has me Fiberdazed.
This entry was posted in art, creating change, lettering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

